Salzburger Kunstverein kicks off summer with the launch of 20 Propositions

Salzburger Kunstverein
Salzburg, Austria
20 July – 23 September 2018

20 Propositions is a series of 20 exhibitions, events, performances and screenings taking place over the summertime in the Salzburger Kunstverein. Each project phase has its own opening event. The Sunset Kino, Austria’s only outdoor avant-garde cinema, includes seven screenings of contemporary video and film.

Curated by Séamus Kealy, 20 Propositions is produced in homage to the exhibition “40 Days 20 Exhibitions,” held 20 years ago in the Salzburger Kunstverein, and curated by the director then, Hildegund Amanshauser. This new version takes a different format but arises out a spirit of flux and engagement as the earlier exhibition had. 20 Propositions is also in collaboration with the Salzburg International Summer Academy, which Hildegund Amanshauser currently directs. 20 Propositions includes solo presentations, screenings and performances by local, national and international artists, including four Summer Academy artists, and guest- curated screenings.

The Central Proposition

In order to survive, and to adjust to the speed of change and political shifts around us, we must propose and form new models of thinking, living and believing. 20 Propositions, as several parts to one whole, is considered as an unfinished series of experiments, speculations and encounters strung together. Notions of the temporary and the ephemeral are prioritised in this collaborative project. At its root 20 Propositions questions notions of producing, staging and mounting exhibitions. What binds everything together is a sense of incompletion, where processes of production are deliberately paused or thwarted. The project as a whole places emphasis on a promethean model of art production as actively coming to being. Everything comes out of a greater nothingness, and is thus again spirited away.

Featured artists

Ei Arakawa, Mehraneh Atashi, Jan Bonny, Oisin Byrne, Gary Farrelly, Carl Johan Högberg, Sam Keogh, Jakob Kolding, Ulrike Königshofer, Maria Legat, Manu Luksch, Iva Lulashi, Bjørn Melhus, Bady Minck, Christian Naujoks & Class, Emeka Okereke, Christiane Peschek, Martin Reinhart, Nikola Röthemeyer, Annika Sailer, Michael Snow, Fabrizio Terranova, Thomas Tode, Markus Wilfling, Alex Wissel and Mark Van Yetter.

A glimpse of Erika Hock’s cinema pavilion at the Salzburger Kunstverein