Musée de l’Elysée
Lausanne, Switzerland
Until 24 September 2017

The Musée de l’Elysée presents one of the first exhibitions devoted to the history of the slide, from its inception in the second half of the 19th century to today. Whereas the history of photography was built around the photographic print, the photographic projection underwent a major development as of the last third of the 19th century, borrowing from the tradition of magic lantern shows.

For a long time confined to the realm of teaching, public lectures and popular entertainment, photographic projection also became increasingly popular among amateur photographers. Some well-known professional photographers already used the slide in the first half of the 20th century, but it wasn’t until the decade from 1960-1970 that this type of presentation really took hold within the artistic community when conceptual artists adopted it as an alternative means of expression.

The exhibition is organized into four major sections, each devoted to a different aspect of this type of photographic presentation: light images, the apparatus, sequence, and screening.

The selection covers the diversity of these practices in order to emphasize its impact on visual culture. It consists of more than 20 projections and brings together different media – slide objects, prints, projectors, original documentation and videos (reconstitutions).


Anne Lacoste, curator, Musée de l’Elysée, Lausanne
Carole Sandrin, curator, Musée de l’Elysée, Lausanne
Nathalie Boulouch, lecturer on contemporary art history and photography, Université Rennes 2, France
Olivier Lugon, professor, Department of Film History and Esthetics and the Center for Historical Cultural Sciences, Université de Lausanne
With the assistance of Emilie Delcambre Hirsch


Marcel Broodthaers (1924-1976) I Jan Dibbets (1941) I Peter Fischli (1932) et David Weiss (1946-2012) I Ceal Floyer (1968) I Gisèle Freund (1908-2000) I Bertrand Gadenne (1951) I Jules Gervais-Courtellemont (1863-1931) I Nan Goldin (1953) I Dan Graham (1942) I Lewis W. Hine (1874-1940) I Runo Lagomarsino (1977) I Frederick (1809-1879) et William (1807-1874) Langenheim I Helen Levitt (1913-2009) I Laszlo Moholy-Nagy (1895-1946) I Antonin Personnaz (1854-1936) I Josef Svoboda (1920-2002) I

Alain Sabatier (1945) I Allan Sekula (1951-2013) I Robert Smithson (1938-1973) I Alfred Stieglitz (1864-1946) I Krzysztof Wodiczko (1943) Designers Charles (1907-1978) et Ray (1912-1988) Eames I Gerard Ifert (1928) et Rudi Meyer (1943) I Ken Isaacs (1927-2016) Architect Le Corbusier (1887-1965).


Runo Lagomarsino, Sea Grammar, 2015 © Runo Lagomarsino / Photo: Andreas Meck and Terje Östling / Courtesy of the artist, Mendes Wood DM, São Paulo, Nils Staerk, Copenhagen and Francesca Minini, Milan